NMMA Now Accepting Nominations

2006 Alan J. Freedman Award to be presented in Miami

Published online: Jun 20, 2006 News
Viewed 129 time(s)

The National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) is currently accepting nominations for the 23rd Annual Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award. The award, which is sponsored by NMMA's Accessory Manufacturers Division (AMD) Board of Directors, honors the memory of Freedman, a former NMMA Shows Committee chairman and active association member who helped found the association in 1979. It will be presented this year during the International BoatBuilders' Exhibition & Conference, taking place November 1-3 in Miami.


The Freedman Award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the marine industry through leadership, creativity and personal motivation. Recent past recipients of the award include: James W. Taylor, Taylor Made Group Inc. (2005); Bob Selig, Davis Instruments (2004); and Fred Kegelmeyer, Brunger Export Company (2003). A complete list of past Freedman Award winners is available online at www.nmma.org.


"This award is the highest possible honor to bestow on a member of the marine accessories community," says Rick Russell, director of Anderson Marine Division in Grandview, Missouri, and chairman of NMMA's AMD Board. "To be recognized with this honor is a sign of significant achievement in this industry."


Any member of the marine industry may nominate someone for this honor. Candidates for nomination include accessory manufacturers, representatives, members of the media, dealers, distributors or association staff persons. The deadline for this year's Freedman nominations is September 29, and a nomination form is available for download on nmma.org. The 2006 recipient will receive his or her award on November 3, during the IBEX Industry Awards Breakfast.

For more information, or to fill out a nomination form online, visit nmma.org and click the "Freedman Award" link on NMMA's homepage, or contact Janice Ilg at (312) 946-6271; jilg@nmma.org.

You May Also Be Interested In...

April 28, 2015

NMMA in legal trouble over boat show relocation

Remember a couple weeks ago when the NMMA canceled their big boat show in Chicago? Well, it turns out that's not the only trouble they're having lately.
April 16, 2015

Breaking News

The National Marine Manufacturers Association canceled the Progressive Chicago In-Water Boat Show, which was set to take place June 11-14, and will stop producing the annual show.
April 16, 2015

West Marine announces new "Deck Out Dad" social media contest

West Marine has launched a new social media campaign called Deck Out Dad!
April 03, 2015

66 Days At Sea

We are happy to report that after being adrift at sea and lost for 66 days, Louis Jordan has been rescued 200 miles off the coast of South Carolina.
Follow us on Facebook!  Follow us on Instagram!  Follow us on Twitter!  Follow us on YouTube!