Boater education to be required in N.C.

Published online: Mar 02, 2010 News
Viewed 173 time(s)

As of May 1, boater education certification will be mandatory for those younger than 26 in North Carolina.

Beginning in May, anyone younger than 26 operating a vessel powered by a motor of 10 horsepower or greater on a public waterway must meet the requirements for boating safety education.

"Those boaters must take and pass a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators-approved course before taking the helm or otherwise be in compliance," said Capt. Chris Huebner, the state boating safety coordinator, in a statement.

All vessel operators may be asked by law enforcement officers to present a certification card or proof of compliance.

You May Also Be Interested In...

April 16, 2015

Breaking News

The National Marine Manufacturers Association canceled the Progressive Chicago In-Water Boat Show, which was set to take place June 11-14, and will stop producing the annual show.
April 16, 2015

West Marine announces new "Deck Out Dad" social media contest

West Marine has launched a new social media campaign called Deck Out Dad!
April 03, 2015

66 Days At Sea

We are happy to report that after being adrift at sea and lost for 66 days, Louis Jordan has been rescued 200 miles off the coast of South Carolina.
April 01, 2015

JC Manufacturing becomes JC TriToon Marine

Formerly known as JC Manufacturing, the Indiana-based pontoon manufacturer has officially changed its name to JC TriToon Marine.
Follow us on Facebook!  Follow us on Instagram!  Follow us on Twitter!  Follow us on YouTube!