Pontoon boat and deck boat magazine
home
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 25HP Mercury 4stroke

Question 25HP Mercury 4stroke

Just a question on the water pump on the 25HP Mercury 4stroke outboard.
    I have it on my 16' 2002 pontoon, I am looking at upgrading it to a 60HP but need to do some saving as its going to be $10,000'ish so it seems
    I have never changed it since I have owned the pontoon, 2years... it would be safe to say the org. owner didn't do much. The boat only runs in fresh water and is only used in the Ontario, Canada boating season.
    I have been told that the water pump is something that should be changed (Impeller) every so often as its something that when it does fail its to late. Last year I pick up a Impeller replacement kit and have yet to change it out. Anyone have any idea how long a job like this takes, and what I am in for trying to tackle this myself??
    I am handy and in the Trades with a lot of tools but I am no mechanic !!

Hey Huggyd:

Well if you are handy and have the tools; ratchet & sockets, flat blade putty knife, the proper grease,(not lower unit lube) - it's not too bad of a job.

Get hold of a good repair manual and/or google a YOUtube video for your exact engine. Be sure your rebuild kit is for your exact engine, (by serial #/model#)
    and you are in business.

Generally, unless it is time to change the lower unit lube, you won't need to drain & refill the gear case as it comes off intact when working on the water pump / impeller area.

Remove the 6 or more nuts from under the cavitation plate just above the gear case, check the manual to see if your particular engine needs to be in reverse gear to remove the lower unit.
    Some engines require this in order to line up the internal shift fork with the sliding collar so the L/unit can come down. Also be aware of this when going back together.