Pontoon boat and deck boat magazine
home
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Anchoring a pontoon boat

Default Anchoring a pontoon boat

I'm a newbie boater. I've watched several YouTube videos about anchoring a pontoon boat. They all secure the anchor line to a cleat, but they never show anyone actually doing that. I have a Bennington 20 SLL. There's very little space around the playpen at the bow. To secure the anchor line to a cleat at the bow, I would need to hold on to the aluminum frame of the boat with one hand and tie a cleat hitch with the other --precarious even in calm water. A guy I met, who has been boating for 45 years, tells me he just ties a hook to the end of his anchor line, then attaches the hook to the eyelet at the tip of his middle pontoon. Seems like a great idea. My only caution is that if I back away in reverse-idle to set the anchor, that may stress the toon and cause problems over time. Any thoughts?

Backing away at an idle to set an anchor ain't gonna come close to stressing your pontoon, even over decades of use. Pontoon boats are designed to take a lot more stress than you think.
    1994 Tracker Party Cruiser
    115 hp Merc, 2 stroke

Hey Docpit:

I agree with belercous about the stress factor. Should not be a problem at all. In fact, a few 'toons
    use the center eye as a winch point when going on the trailer. (Not many but I have seen this more than once.)

Generally if your model has little or no front bow platform it makes it difficult to tie up, store anchors or bumpers
    and step off when docking or beaching. This is one of the main features a buyer should consider when buying new or used.

Some desirable features are often not available when in the heat of the purchase decision, however you can work around this.

I'd suggest using a semi-permanent line secured over the cleat, about 3 foot long, with a bowline loop on the free end and