Pontoon boat and deck boat magazine
home
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Trailer Valet

Default Trailer Valet

Saw a "sponsored" ad on Facebook for this. As an engineer, I think it's an interesting concept and admire them for developing it and bringing it to market. But as a boat owner, I don't think it's worth $400 - hooking up a trailer is not that big of a problem. Also, I don't think it would work in gravel, which a lot of storage lots have.

http://youtu.be/88Y76SRa13s
    =============
    Walter
    Harris Flotebote Sunliner
    Amite River Diversion
    Head of Island, LA

I agree that $400.00 is steep. And like you said, most lots are gravel and if there was any incline at all, it probably wouldn't work anyway. I think a backup camera would be money much better spent..
    Rick

St. Louis/Lake of the Ozarks

Pretty neat device, but not for $400. I think it would be handier for moving the boat around off the truck than for moving the boat to the truck.

I have a backup camera from Advance Auto on my Dodge, best $80 I ever spent for a towing accessory. Get the wired one for a full sized pickup, the wireless is a bit iffy on the full sized truck, the pic fades at the worst times.
    2006 Forester 19 Fish (new deck and carpet, Pontoonstuff interior, 2019)
    1996 Mercury 50 ELPT4S
    1983 Sea Nymph FM171 Striper (complete rebuild from hull up, 2014)
    1985 Johnson 70 J70ELCO

Raystown Country, PA

Quote Originally Posted by Moser View Post
    Pretty neat device, but not for $400. I think it would be handier for moving the boat around off the truck than for moving the boat to the truck.

I have a backup camera from Advance Auto on my Dodge, best $80 I ever spent for a towing accessory. Get the wired one for a full sized pickup, the wireless is a bit iffy on the full sized truck, the pic fades at the worst times.
    Tell us more about your camera system ? is it the license plate mount type ? and what happened with the wireless type ?
    2012 Excursion X23C